chrisp

My Hardware

Well, my hardware has become quite hard to track, since I live together with two other computer science students (i.e. registered geeks), and we share our infrastructure. So I'll just list the machines where I know the root password. :-)

frodo
Apple MacBook Pro 15" Core Duo 2.16 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 100 GB disk, runs Mac OS X plus WinXP and Linux via Parallels
legolas
Apple iMac 17" Core Duo 1.83 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, 160 GB disk, runs Mac OS X, WinXP and Linux via Boot Camp
gimli
Apple iMac 15" PowerPC G4 1 GHz, 768 MB RAM, 80 GB disk, runs Mac OS X
aragorn
AMD Athlon 64 3000+, ASUS A8N-E, 1 GB RAM, 120 GB disk, nVidia GeForce 6600, runs WinXP
sam
AMD Athlon XP 2600+, 1 GB RAM, 1200 GB total disk, runs Linux, uptime record 199 days and counting
pippin
VIA C3 533 MHz, 256 MB RAM, 4 GB disk, ISDN interface, runs Linux, uptime record 202 days
merry
VIA C3 533 MHz, 128 MB RAM, 1 GB CompactFlash, ISDN interface, runs Linux, uptime record 319 days and counting

As you can see, my machines are named after characters from the epic "The Lord of the Rings" by J.R.R. Tolkien. More precisely, they are named after members of the "Fellowship of the Ring". That's why the SMB workgroup is named "Fellowship". I also own the domain fellowship.de, but is is only used on the internal network.

A little more background: I started using this scheme back in 1996, with the two machines legolas (a PowerMacintosh 8200/100) and gimli (a 486 PC built from spare parts, running Linux). Like their characters, they were very different friends, but complemented each other in a wonderful way. legolas has now found a new home where he is cared for in spite of his age. gimli was upgraded over the years, swapping out all parts several times, until he was finally replaced by gandalf in 2003. Both names are now in use for newer machines.

A note on the uptimes: The previous pippin machine (an AMD K6-2 350) had a record of 321 days, the previous merry machine (an AMD K6 200) had a record of more than 500 days – the exact number fell victim to the 497 day wraparound bug. I keep track of uptimes using Matthew Trent's ud daemon.

Jul 31, 2006 Copyright © 2002-2011 Christoph Pfisterer

chrisp

Meine Hardware

Tja, es ist etwas schwer festzustellen, was "meine Hardware" ist, da ich mit zwei Informatik-Studenten in einer WG wohne und wir uns die Infrastruktur teilen. Ich habe einfach mal die Rechner aufgelistet, von denen ich das root-Passwort kenne. :-)

frodo
Apple MacBook Pro 15" Core Duo 2,16 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 100 GB Platte, läuft unter Mac OS X (plus WinXP und Linux via Parallels)
legolas
Apple iMac 17" Core Duo 1,83 GHz, 1,5 GB RAM, 160 GB Platte, läuft unter Mac OS X, WinXP und Linux (via Boot Camp)
gimli
Apple iMac 15" PowerPC G4 1 GHz, 768 MB RAM, 80 GB Platte, läuft unter Mac OS X
aragorn
AMD Athlon 64 3000+, ASUS A8N-E, 1 GB RAM, 120 GB Platte, nVidia GeForce 6600, läuft unter WinXP
sam
AMD Athlon XP 2600+, 1 GB RAM, 1200 GB Platte insgesamt, läuft unter Linux, Uptime-Rekord 199 Tage
pippin
VIA C3 533 MHz, 256 MB RAM, 4 GB Platte, ISDN, läuft unter Linux, Uptime-Rekord 202 Tage
merry
VIA C3 533 MHz, 128 MB RAM, 1 GB CompactFlash, ISDN, läuft unter Linux, Uptime-Rekord 319 Tage

Wie man sieht, heissen die Rechner nach Figuren aus dem Epos "Der Herr der Ringe" von J.R.R. Tolkien, um genauer zu sein nach Mitgliedern der "Fellowship of the Ring", der Gruppe der Ring-Gefährten. Passend dazu heisst die SMB-Arbeitsgruppe "Fellowship", und die Domain fellowship.de habe ich auch. Mangels öffentlicher IPv4-Adressen wird sie aber nur im internen Netz benutzt.

Zur Geschichte: Angefangen hat das alles 1996, mit legolas (ein PowerMacintosh 8200/100) und gimli (ein aus Ersatzteilen zusammengebastelter 486er unter Linux). Wie ihre Vorbilder waren sie zwei sehr unterschiedliche Freunde, die aber zusammenhielten und sich wunderbar ergänzten. legolas hat inzwischen ein neues Zuhause gefunden, wo er trotz seines Alters gehegt und gepflegt wird. gimli wurde im Zuge der kontinuierlichen Aufrüstung mehrmals komplett ersetzt und schliesslich 2003 durch gandalf abgelöst. Beide ursprüngliche Namen werden inzwischen von neueren Maschinen benutzt.

Zu den Uptime-Rekorden: Ich benutze ud von Matthew Trent um die Uptime-Rekorde aufzuzeichnen. Der frühere pippin (ein AMD K6-2 350) hatte einen Rekord von 321 Tagen, der frühere merry sogar von über 500 Tagen – die genaue Zahl ist dem 497-Tage Bug zum Opfer gefallen.

31. Jul 2006 Copyright © 2002-2011 Christoph Pfisterer